100%

Health Check

N/A

Back to All Discussions

Beginner to writing API code

Rapid account: No 1 Uknow
No1uknow
8 years ago

I know this sounds horrible but I am brand new to writing application code. I do not understand how / where to use the “Get/Post” code and where to use the “request example”. I was planning on using Java (I thought it would be the easiest). Can you point me in the right direction of how to get started. I just need a complete example of where to put each piece of code and I should be able to take it from there.

I can script I am just brand spanking new to creating this type of code.

What goes in the HTML, javascript file(script.js)(assuming this is needed), where should I put the include for unirest.io snippet etc.

I was looking at this as an example “https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2012/02/beginners-guide-jquery-based-json-api-clients/” but it doesn’t seem to carry over to your API usage.

Thank you very much for any help provided.

Rapid account: Spoonacular
spoonacular Commented 8 years ago

I’m currently on vacation and these are also more PHP related questions than really related to the API so I think you can get quicker more in-depth help in a PHP forum. If you don’t get ahead, I’ll be back in May, let me know 😉

No1uknow Commented 8 years ago

json_decode gives an error and says it wants to use json_encode. After getting the result from json_encode I cannot figure out how to parse it (foreach)? json_encode seems to convert the data to a string and is not easily loopable.
response=Unirest\Request::get("response = Unirest\Request::get("url", array( “X-Mashape-Key” => “” ) );
echo "What type of var1: " . gettype(response);
That above line of code returns a type “string”.

Ideas?

…well there you go 😃 You need to get the “raw_body”, parse it as json (see PHP json_decode) and then you can grab the “answer” field from that